Power up / Persuasive Games

I often wonder how much juice I really chew up while dj’ing, or playing games, or just doing the things I do.  Sometimes I have several different peripherals going and each item uses up power on its own.  By playing a game, I tax my system more and require the GPU and CPU to do more work, therefore requiring more juice.  Its just something that floats in and out of my mind at times.

After Wednesday night’s State of the Union address and President Obama talking about building more nuclear plants, I think energy use has been sitting in my brain lately.  I don’t really have much of a taste for politics, but I realize we need to build more efficient power plants, need to research new technologies like wind, and research making older technologies safer and better (nuclear, coal).

Anyway, I came across one of Persuasive Games’ new little gems today and thought I’d share it with you.  Its called “Windfall” and is all about building new windmills to generate power while balancing cost, location, and political approval.  The game is very much a simpler Sim City with a greener viewpoint.   Its free and interesting to play, and here’s the shocker, actually makes you think about something other than leveling up or killing baddies while you play a game.

"Windfall" by Persuasive Games

I’ve been a fan of Persuasive Games for years because of their ability to make games poignant.  Regardless of whether you ascribe to the particular political viewpoint their game(s) espouse, you should find them engaging and thought-provoking.  Some games are geared towards children, and some are licensed by companies or politicians to sell their product, so not every game feels unique, but the unique ones do shine.   These stars tend to be the ones created by Persuasive Games alone (like “Windfall”) that have no strings attached to them.  One of my all-time favorites was a game they released not too long after 9/11 and the war where the object was to use missiles to kill terrorists.   You see, your missiles weren’t always accurate and sometimes you hit civilians, while other times you hit terrorists.  When you killed either, family would come to mourn and then turn into terrorists themselves, leaving you more to kill than you had before.  It was a very simplistic picture of the war on terror, but it was hard to ignore its message.  I can’t find the game on their website anymore, but will link it here if I do.

I love to see one of my favorite forms of entertainment used creatively to inspire people, raise questions, or outright challenge people in what they believe.  More and more games are incorporating moralistic choices and are allowing you to shape how your character lives.  I’m glad this industry is maturing with much of its fan-base and proving that games needn’t be senseless.  I still enjoy senseless mayhem however, but this dichotomy makes each more enjoyable.

~ by curbmerchant on January 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Power up / Persuasive Games”

  1. I really like how the graphics look in this game, the focus of the game sounds stupid but is A “good thing” still. Looks like it would be minorly challenging still :D

    • Yeah, its not a super-difficult game by any means, but it is enjoyable to play through for a free net game. The focus is what matters for them I think, and successfully finding an interesting and engaging way to make the subject matter enjoyable should be noted.

Leave a Reply

 
