Don’t sleep, Solar Bears

My updating history is spotty.  With the show I was motivated, but otherwise I don’t know what to say.  I get inspired from time to time, and I’d like to share that with anyone who still pops by. I am working out a monthly residency at a little spot in Brooklyn for anyone who may be interested, but we’re still working out the details.

So, I picked up “She Was Colored In” by Solar Bears quite a few months ago, and really I should have shared this beautiful record with you sooner.  Its an amazing piece of ambient, stoner, rock-ish, psychedelia.  I don’t know how else to explain it.  Some tracks are more beat-heavy, while others are more rock-centric.  All maintain this beautiful calm and posture throughout that helps take you along on their vision.

I’m posting two tracks here from their youtube collection so you can hear the differences in their sounds, yet the cohesiveness that pervades.

More electronic:

A little more stoner:

~ by curbmerchant on July 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
